The Best of The Linking Rings . . .

Discuss your favorite platform magic and illusions.
Ray Eden

The Best of The Linking Rings . . .

Postby Ray Eden » July 26th, 2004, 5:33 am

I've been doing the Linking Rings off and on for the last 20 years (has it been that long?), and I think that its time to get a new set. Before I do, I would like to hear some opinions regarding the best 'mid-priced' (key word! - pun intended)set available on the market today. I would like a set 12" in diameter, with a good sounding tone. All opinions are welcomed.

Ray Eden

David Alexander

Re: The Best of The Linking Rings . . .

Postby David Alexander » July 26th, 2004, 11:11 pm

There is only one: Owen Magic's 12" hollow stainless steel. An eight ring set weighs around four pounds and they ring like a bell. Buy one set and you'll never have to buy another. When I got mine they were around $500 and worth every penny.

My other set is 10" Merv Taylor Orb Eternal Stainless Steel....solid, heavy, and with a ring like a bell. Either one works well, but the smaller rings weigh in at over six pounds. They were once owned by Gene Gloye who wrote one of the best routines.

The finest set I've ever seen were made by Les Smith at Owen Magic from titanium tubing accidentally delivered to his shop. Extremely light the handled beautifully and had a beautiful tone. Unfortunately, Les sold them for a nice price before I could talk him out of them.

Ray Eden

Postby Ray Eden » July 26th, 2004, 11:15 pm

That's a mid-range (remember the key word) price? Are the really good Linking Rings really $1000.00+?

Ray Eden

Postby Guest » July 27th, 2004, 12:23 am

I am not aware of any set of linking rings costing more than $1000.00

I got a set of 12 inches with locking key from Owens just two months ago. I think they are perfect, and after you tried them you'd never go back to anything else.