Choosing a wallet

All beginners in magic should address their questions here.
Gomez
Favorite Magician: Ricky Jay

Choosing a wallet

Postby Gomez » January 23rd, 2019, 12:51 pm

Hello, everyone!

I'm pretty new to magic and really want to buy a good wallet. There are many choices obviously. I had hoped to try some out at Magifest but very little was there.

I would like it to be a hip type everyday wallet. I'd like it for CTW, peek, switch, index... I know that sounds like a lot to ask out of a single wallet but I do see some out there.

I'm looking at Espionage and Infinity. I have no idea what the difference is between Infinity and Infinity Kensington other than color.

Any advice? I don't want to be unhappy and end up buying a 2nd wallet.

Thanks

Tom Frame
Favorite Magician: Del Ray

Re: Choosing a wallet

Postby Tom Frame » January 23rd, 2019, 6:15 pm

Contact Tony Miller.

Gomez

Postby Gomez » January 23rd, 2019, 9:17 pm

I met him at Magifest. I did not see a wallet that fit what I'm looking for. But he definitely makes some very nice wallets. His index gimmicks are awesome. Being a novice I may have missed something.

Wouldn't it be great if we could walk in somewhere and check out a dozen high quality wallets? It's hard to do this just reading on the internet.

Thanks for coming back to me.

Leonard Hevia
Favorite Magician: Dai Vernon, Frank Garcia, Slydini, Houdini,

Postby Leonard Hevia » January 23rd, 2019, 10:42 pm

You want a wallet but have not specified its function. Are you looking for a peek wallet? Card to Wallet? A wallet with various pockets/outs for a mentalism effect?

A Himber wallet? You can get this now in a hip pocket design.

Gomez

Postby Gomez » January 24th, 2019, 9:16 am

Actually, I said:

"I would like it to be a hip type everyday wallet. I'd like it for CTW, peek, switch, index... I know that sounds like a lot to ask out of a single wallet but I do see some out there."

Add "outs" to that.