Books vs. Videos

Discuss your favorite close-up tricks and methods.

Books vs. Videos

Postby Guest » October 27th, 2003, 4:19 am

....I have been learning card magic, now, for almost two years. I started with the first of the Five Books of Giobbi and the Erdnase Expert At Ahe Card Table. I would need, quite regularly, to go to my Magic Shop for an understanding of what I was reading -just what the heck was I supposed to do, and what would it accomplish. I'm not illiterate, but I just couldn't convert a written explanation of certain techniques into a visual interpretation. I couldn't get an understanding of such things as an ATFUS or Elmsley count, or even the Hindoo Shuffle clear in my head.

The Shop recommended videos - and I started to relearn card magic with the Advanced Control series with Allan Ackerman. All eight of them. And Mr. Kaufman's The Pass, and Jerry Camaro's Second Dealing, and Brad Burt's Zarrow Shuffle. In fact, I now have over forty videos including Ed Marlo's The Cardician, Larry Jennings' Thoughts On Cards, Lennart Green, Michael Ammar, Lee Asher, and a host of others - where all my basic techniques came from. I have now finished most of Giobbi, and I am now more able to inch my way through Mr. Racherbaumer's Card Fixes or Kabbala; Marlo's Revolutionary Card Technique and Brother Hamman's Secrets; and even L&L's Magic of Larry Jennings.

But had I started in 1960, I'd never have even made it through a double lift. I'd never have gotten the card bug, because book-learning, to me, is very very tough.