Charles Morrit

Discuss the latest news and rumors in the magic world.
Joe Mckay
Favorite Magician: Lubor Fiedler

Charles Morrit

Postby Joe Mckay » April 28th, 2018, 5:17 am

Charles Morrit is another brilliant creator of illusions who I am only beginning to learn more about. A few years ago - the guys over at the Los Angeles Conference on Magic History put together a recreation of Howard Thurston's "Oh!" illusion.

This is a test conditions vanish of a lady from a chair. It was designed by Charles Morrit and Nevil Maskelyne.

You can read about the illusion here:

http://www.themagicdetective.com/2015/01/another-forgotten-illusion-oh.html

In Mike Caveney's book devoted to the illusions he helped recreate for the L.A. Conference on Magic History, he has a fascinating chapter devoted to the ingenious secret behind this trick. That chapter made me curious to see a performance of the illusion.

Luckily for me - I found a video of Paul Daniels performing this illusion. You can see it below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cr2zKCsbkdA

It makes for fascinating viewing particularly for those familiar with the offbeat method.

Q. Kumber
Favorite Magician: Tom Whitestone

Re: Charles Morrit

Postby Q. Kumber » April 28th, 2018, 8:46 am

Thank you Joe for your post. I had completely forgotten seeing this routine on the PD show - a very baffling illusion, and it had me reading up on it in the Caveney book, one of the chapters I hadn't read.

Coincidentally, last Wednesday, on a visit to Trevor Lewis (he is very well and second dealing expertly in his mid-80's), he gave me some old Linking Ring magazines. Last night I was reading Dan Stapleton's article on Gerald Heaney, and it is from Heaney's estate that Mike Caveney acquired Thurston's chair for Oh!