Gripe - what do you think fellow & ladies

Discuss the latest news and rumors in the magic world.
Raleigh

Gripe - what do you think fellow & ladies

Postby Raleigh » July 24th, 2013, 7:55 pm

:evil: Ok....... here's the story. I do promotional mailing etc. to book shows to different market targets, nothing new on that. Anyway I had recently did a kid show mailing for my " Fun with Magic " show. So here's the gripe ....... I make my living doing shows and selling vintage & used magic and sometimes as you fellow performers know it is not always easy ! Here would be a good reason why ................ Lady called me today from a daycare here in Las Vegas, NV. She picked her 10: a.am. time and agreed to show length of 30 - 35 min. long enough for that age. Sold her with the fact I produce a live goldfish , use a parakeet, colorful backdrop, tux, real silken top hat ..... the whole nine yards. Price a very fair 185.00. That's when it turned around at the price. She stated she will have to call the guy who did the show there last year as he only charges 90.00

Anyway I know this low balling has gone on for years and is not new but still hits a nerve huh ! Back in the late 80's I used to get 125.00 - 150.00 for 30 min. birthday parties in Houston. Don't know but who would go do a show for 90.00 but an armchair magician ???? We can never fix this problem I know but damn !

Richard Kaufman
Favorite Magician: Theodore DeLand

Re: Gripe - what do you think fellow & ladies

Postby Richard Kaufman » July 24th, 2013, 8:16 pm

There are always people who will do the job for less than you. They may not do as good a job, but it's your job to convince your client of that.
Subscribe today to Genii Magazine

Raleigh

Postby Raleigh » July 24th, 2013, 8:27 pm