REALLY easy, REALLY amazing

All beginners in magic should address their questions here.

Postby Guest » 02/17/04 02:45 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new to magic and just wanted to know a trick that I can do to just impress my friends. Nothing serious.

I would like the trick to be VERY easy, or easy enough for a complete beginner. But it must also be amazing and get a wow out of my friends.

Thanks all in advance.

Postby Steve Hook » 02/17/04 07:57 AM

Angelol:

Go to the bookstore or library and buy or borrow a book on magic. Go through all the tricks until you find one you like. Then practice and perform it. Magic is a lot about the journey of discovery. Go for it!
Steve Hook

Postby M. Sibbernsen » 02/17/04 10:29 AM

To expand on Steve's advice...

Seek out these books on your visit to the bookstore.

Mark Wilson's Complete Course in Magic- The new edition is an over-sized softbound. Black in color.

Magic for Dummies- By David Pogue. Yellow and Black.

Both of these books are perhaps the best easily found books to get started in magic. They will most likely be located in the "Games / Puzzles" section of your local bookstore. They are also available for a good price online from Amazon.com.

For the time being, here is a nice online card trick (a variation of an old classic) for the beginner to magic you might enjoy learning and performing.

http://waterloomagic.netfirms.com/BMJframe.html

Best of luck with your Magical endeavors.

Michael
M. Sibbernsen

Postby Guest » 02/17/04 01:24 PM