Four ring linking ring routine

Discuss your favorite platform magic and illusions.

Postby Guest » 08/17/03 05:23 AM

I ws recently gven a set of linking rings, which I've never worked with before. I'm most interested in a comedy routine with only three or four rings, rather than eight.

Can anyone recommend either books or videos that teach both the basic moves, plus a good routine for a small number of rings?

cheers,
Malcolm

Postby David Garrity » 08/17/03 07:21 AM

Malcom,

"Whit Hayden's Comedy Ring Routine" is a four ring routine. It is a comedy, audience participation routine. It is available as a book or a video. Most dealers should carry it.
David Garrity
www.MagicalArtist.com
David Garrity

Postby David Acer » 08/25/03 08:48 PM

Hi Malcolm,

Chris Capehart's Three Ring Routine was published by Tannen's as part of their New Stars of Magic series - it has some very nice sequences.

The Camirand Academy also released Aldo Colombini's fun and funny three ring routine on video. It's called Three Ring Circus (go to www.camirandmagic.com).

Finally, if you can find a copy of George Blake's book, Comedy Magic (I think that's what it's called...), there's a terrific comedy linking ring routine in there.

Good luck!
Now tweeting daily from @David_Acer
David Acer

Postby Pete Biro » 08/25/03 10:08 PM

Hey Acer... knock off references to Blake's book... that is too good to let out!

Seriously, Whit's routine is outstanding, and Capehart has just released a fabulous DVD teaching his unusual handling.

Stevensmagic.com sells Al Koran's three ring routine whichis easier to master, and a good starting point.

But, if you can be funny, go for Whit's.
Stay tooned.
Pete Biro

Postby Q. Kumber » 08/26/03 12:44 AM