Your First Paid Show

Discuss your favorite close-up tricks and methods.

Postby Guest » 09/26/06 06:43 PM

I would love to hear about your first paid, or professional magic show experience.
Thanks

I just did my first Paid, stage performance. I have never done any stage performance before, only individual and walk around close up. It consisted mainly of cards and close up material, with live video feed on a large overhead screen. The show was for about 100 people in a 250 seat auditorium with age ranges from 5-55 and it was crazy. Nothing major happened. But it was a new experience. Working with individuals on stage, while trying to keep the audience involved is harder than I thought. Just a couple of things that happened, I asked a couple of girls to pick a nubmer between 10 and 25, I thought I made that pretty clear, twice, but when I asked them their numbers the first said, 3, and the second, seven. It really did not change much, but It tought me to think on my feet. Also I burned a card and rubbed it on my arm to display the ashes and the card number did not show up on my arm. I found that my normal method does not stand up to that much time, between set up and performance. I pulled it off by tracing the numbers that were supposedly on my arm, like I could see them. They still freaked out that I knew the card. Besides feeling sick to my stomach, and being exhausted after it was all over, it was a great experience and the man in charge paid me with a smile and a thank you. It was a great time.

Postby Guest » 09/26/06 07:21 PM

I was fifteen years old, in a bar near campus ( I know ... but 1975 was a lot more lenient concerning mature looking fellows.) I was doing card tricks for some friends of mine. A fellow was watching, and after a while he came over and said "That stuff is pretty good. Do you do parties?" While I was formulating an answer along the lines of "Sure, I would love to come to your party," he asked, "What do you charge?'