THE BUSCH FACTOR

Discuss products and their reviews in Genii.

Postby Guest » 09/06/06 08:12 PM

THE BUSCH FACTOR: A REVIEW

Richard Busch has recently released his latest work to the mentalism fraternity, which is arguably his most comprehensive examination of a subject area since Peek Performances. There is a great deal of applied theoretical information that method mongers, as I believe Eugene Burger referred to them, might find a turn off. This will be their loss.

First let me make my own biases clear; I am a clinical psychologist trained in Ericksonian therapy and hypnotherapy. Like Richard, I use this stuff in my work. I have seen the impact these approaches have and I like to think I know a lot about it. Even so, in The Busch Factor (hereafter referred to as TBF), Richard has integrated ideas and presented them in such a clear-cut way that Ive already found myself putting them into practice on THE JOB, as well as in my mentalism performances. This has happened only once before, involving an idea in Richard Osterlinds writings, and in both cases I believe speaks to the wisdom and strength of the material.

But I know most reading this review are far more interested in presentational uses than therapeutic. And Richard goes out of his way, more than once, to emphasize that the purpose of TBF is not to create therapists or hypnotists but better and more powerful performances. He actively discourages recent trends to present effects as therapy, though certainly recognizes the experience of rapport and wonder may likely be healing for some.