Starting in coins - Bobo Study Guide?

All beginners in magic should address their questions here.

Starting in coins - Bobo Study Guide?

Postby Guest » August 8th, 2002, 12:37 pm

Hey Folks,

So as the subject implies I'm a rank beginner in the world of coins. I'm also a hack when it comes to cards, but that's an entirely different subject. In any event, I'm looking for good starting points for how best to learn, where to start etc. I own a copy of Bobo's NMCM, but I have to admit it's left me reeling. There's so much material in there that I'm having a really hard time figuring a way to digest it all.

So I guess the real question is whether there are some recommendations on how best to approach NMCM? Is there an "easier" routine to focus on that would incorporate some of the basic slights and give you the skills needed to build on? I'm looking to gain enough skill to have a short convincing routing that I can build on as I learn some of the more complex stuff. Anyone have some advice?

Thanks much,

-Timothy

Re: Starting in coins - Bobo Study Guide?

Postby Guest » August 8th, 2002, 3:52 pm

Hello Timothy,

Dan Watkins has a wonderful site devoted to coin magic called the coin purse. On it you will find a beginners section and under the articles section you will find a wonderful article called "A study guide to Bobo's" it is highly recommended reading! You can get to it by typing in coinpurse.com

Regards,

Mark :)

Postby Guest » August 8th, 2002, 6:48 pm

Just one bit of clarification...

My friend Dominic Reyes is the owner of "The Coin Purse" www.coinmagic.com, and there is a study guide for Bobo's there. I write a lot of the reviews for Dominic's site.

I also have my own coin magic website called www.coinvanish.com. Timothy, goto the "foundations" section of my website to learn what to focus on just beginning with Bobo's. Also is some detailed teaching on how to properly classic palm a coin, which is very valuable for one just starting.