Zombie

All beginners in magic should address their questions here.

Zombie

Postby Guest » November 25th, 2002, 6:09 pm

Hello,

I was wondering how big a cloth for a Zombie should be. I was also wondering if any of you could suggest a routine for a Zombie for a kids show because i have never used a zombie before.

Thank you,
KJ Maginnis

Re: Zombie

Postby Guest » November 26th, 2002, 6:37 am

Hi, KJ

Do you have a Zombie already? If not, you might think twice about buying one.

First, Zombie demands a tremendous amount of showmanship and pacing of routine that new magicians (and some experienced ones, too!) often lack.

Secondly, one must pay careful attention to lighting (that is, NO strong back lighting), or the illusion will be exposed.

Thirdly, the correct foulard will cost much more than the Zombie does!

Fourthly, children can often see right through to the heart of things like Zombie, as they have no prior life experiences to cloud their thinking like adults do.

OK; if you must have one, then save yourself a bundle of $$ while you see if you really want one. Get this:

Miracle Ball by J. Karson (this is a lighter, less expensive, easier to use Zombie that works the same way, and it comes with the suitable cloth and stand) -- around $10 to $12

Floating Ball Magic (this is a book of ideas to enhance the Miracle Ball, and is definitely worth having) -- under $5

Play around with this to see if you really like it. It is much easier to use than Zombie, and it responds better to lighting effects, too.

One man's opinion,

Jon

Lance Pierce

Postby Lance Pierce » November 26th, 2002, 6:45 am

Originally posted by Jon A. Hand:
...First, Zombie demands a tremendous amount of showmanship and pacing of routine that new magicians (and some experienced ones, too!) often lack....
Indeed. For a short time I wondered why it was called a "Zombie" until I realized that's exactly the effect it had on me.

L-

Richard Kaufman
Favorite Magician: Theodore DeLand