One Handed Card Magic

All beginners in magic should address their questions here.
Mr Hurley

One Handed Card Magic

Postby Mr Hurley » November 3rd, 2014, 2:15 pm

I'm rather new to magic and I'm trying to find resources for one handed card magic.
I know that the Rene Lavand DVDs and books are an incredibly valuable resource for the medium; and Ray Kosby's Raise Rise looks incredibly fun but I won't be able to acquire those for the next couple months.

So right now, I'm trying to make a'wanted' list of sorts and I'm not sure where else to look (or if there is other sources) for one-handed card magic, if there are any.

Any ideas?

Brad Jeffers

Re: One Handed Card Magic

Postby Brad Jeffers » November 3rd, 2014, 4:51 pm

If you are interested in magic performed with one hand, you might want to get a copy of The Legend of Mac McDonald by C.C. Allen.

There are not a lot of details on the actual handling of the effects in McDonald's repertoire, but it is an interesting book nonetheless.

Bill Mullins

Postby Bill Mullins » November 3rd, 2014, 5:06 pm

Doesn't Shoot Ogawa do two one-handed Matrix routines at the same time, one with each hand?

Leonard Hevia
Favorite Magician: Dai Vernon, Frank Garcia, Slydini, Houdini,

Postby Leonard Hevia » November 3rd, 2014, 5:36 pm

Another interesting resource is A Cut Above by Vincent Foy. This is a book that focuses strictly on one handed cuts. It's published and sold by Magicana:

http://sharingwonder.magicana.com/publi ... cut-above/

Tom McDonagh

Postby Tom McDonagh » November 3rd, 2014, 8:42 pm

One Hand In My Pocket by Mark Elsdon

Credits to
Max Maven
Eugene Burger
Ken Krenzel

Tom McDonagh

cardmaster
Favorite Magician: Rodolfo

Postby cardmaster » November 3rd, 2014, 9:11 pm