Dove Pan, Bengal Net, and Temple Screen

Discuss your favorite platform magic and illusions.

Dove Pan, Bengal Net, and Temple Screen

Postby Guest » October 2nd, 2003, 8:18 pm

After some 42 years as a magic hobbyist, I have finally acquired these classic pieces of apparatus magic in a good buy. For those of you who use these in kid shows (or any other show), I would appreciate your thoughts upon their uses.

I think that the Pan and the Net would function best as part of some larger routine, much as one would use a Devil's Hank or a Change Bag, i.e., as a utility prop. The Temple Screen, rather than merely a production piece, might be used to produce each item used in a parlor or small platform show (a square circle could be used similarly, I suppose, but the flat, folded appearance of the Temple Screen would seem to have more impact, IMHO).

Any suggestions or routine outlines are welcome. Thanks in advance; I look forward to the discussion that I hope this engenders.

Regards,

Jon

Re: Dove Pan, Bengal Net, and Temple Screen

Postby Guest » October 3rd, 2003, 10:40 am

Years ago, I worked with a partner (Monte Johnson) and we worked out a routine with a white rabbit, the Bengal Net and Dagger Box. We used a jungle hunting theme, wore pith helmets and - Elmer Fudd voice here - were 'hunting wabbits! hahahahah!' Jungle music played as we produced the rabbit from the dagger box, later vanishing it in the bengal net.

Dang! I just had a great idea! We should have put the bunny on a little motorcycle before vanishing him! Anyway, thay's what we came up with... :rolleyes:

Jeff Haas

Re: Dove Pan, Bengal Net, and Temple Screen

Postby Jeff Haas » October 3rd, 2003, 3:00 pm

If you're going to use a Dove Pan in a kidshow, use it at the end to produce wrapped candy to give out.

In the old days, magicians used to bake a cake in a Dove Pan...actually putting flower, an egg, sugar, and then lighter fluid in the pan. Then they'd set the mess on fire, and voila! A cake.