Ultimate Ambition Improved or "You can teach an old dog..."

Discuss your favorite close-up tricks and methods.
erdnasephile

Ultimate Ambition Improved or "You can teach an old dog..."

Postby erdnasephile » June 19th, 2015, 9:34 am

Like many of you, I have used Daryl's Ultimate Ambition for formal close-up shows since it first came out some 20-30 years ago. It killed.

When Daryl released his improved version a few years ago, I bought one and threw it in a drawer. After all, why change something that had been working so well? Eventually, I stopped doing the Ambitious Card all together. It seemed like everyone and their mother was doing it, and as an amateur, I was fully enthralled by "The Tyranny of the New."

Recently, I had a formal close-up show for a bunch of young professionals, and I thought it would be fun challenge to do three tricks closely associated with Dai Vernon. I worked up some personalized routines for Matching the Cards and Triumph, but I still needed a closer. I thought an Ambitious Card routine would fit the bill, and decided to give Daryl's improved Ultimate Ambition a whirl.

Boy, was I dumb for waiting so long. The finale got screams!

The big difference for me was changing the moment of the dirty work. With the improved gimmick, the effect is so far removed from the method timewise, there is just no possible way for the audience to reconstruct it. It's also much more practical from a pocket management point of view, and more versatile as well. That is, if you don't like Daryl's routine structure of eliminating cards, you can still use the new gimmick if you prefer the old handling. The only weakness I see is that when working very close, you've got to watch your angles a bit when wrapping the deck, but that's easily managed with a little thought.