Practicing Palming

Discuss your favorite close-up tricks and methods.

Practicing Palming

Postby Guest » March 27th, 2003, 8:42 pm

I have been doing card magic for almost two years but I am far weaker at palming than I would like to be. I use the occasional gambler cop or lateral palm when at the table, but I have decided to devote the rest of the year to learn some serious palming techniques. can anyone give me advice on where to start?

I have close's power of palming, and I know the standard advice about carrying palmed cards around but I find that after even a minute or two, the cards get warped and the sweat from my hands makes the card wet and sticky and otherwise unsuitable for practice.

do any of the members have some suggestions for delving into this underexplored (by me at least) area of card technique?

Carl Mercurio

Re: Practicing Palming

Postby Carl Mercurio » March 28th, 2003, 6:59 am

If you're just looking for palming technique, i.e., getting the card from the deck into your hand, any number of card books can help you. Expert Card Technique or Erdnase are good places to start. The description of Howie Schwartzman's handling of the top palm is in Magic Monthly. The new Carney Book of Secrets has some nice touches on top and bottom palming. And Vernon obviously has a lot of work on palming.

For me, palming is as much about attitude, misdirection and motivated action as it is about technique. In the recent Ross Bertram issue of Genii, David Ben writes about how Bertram would steal and then hold out a card so his hands were empty. When doing Matt Schulien's Corner in the Glass you have to palm a card and tear off its corner, which requires a lot of misdirection (getting the spectators involved in handling the deck to take the heat off). Check out the Randy Wakeman-produced video on Heba Haba Al if you want to see someone handle a classic palmed card very naturally.

Postby Guest » March 28th, 2003, 8:27 am