Which Coins

Discuss your favorite close-up tricks and methods.

Which Coins

Postby Guest » July 10th, 2006, 9:09 am

I am just beginning to do coin magic and am wondering what the benefits and downfalls are to each coin. I am a 6'4" with pretty big hands and the half dollars do not seem to fit right for the palming moves. Any suggestions would be great.

Re: Which Coins

Postby Guest » July 10th, 2006, 9:20 am

Originally posted by CPReinhard:
I am just beginning to do coin magic and am wondering what the benefits and downfalls are to each coin. I am a 6'4" with pretty big hands and the half dollars do not seem to fit right for the palming moves. Any suggestions would be great.
The methods (palming etc) are entirely secondary to the context of your performance and the material chosen for your audience.

Some people do magic with "coins". Some do magic with "money".

Between your material (visibility and venue-appropriateness) and your performing character ( why would a normal person from 2006 carry silver dollars from 1906 loose in their pockets as if they were money? ) there are LOTS of choices to make.

Pete Biro

Postby Pete Biro » July 10th, 2006, 9:39 am

Someone who wants the spectators to see the coins and a performer that would like to do things like Slydini's work would carry large (Silver dollar) sized coins.

It's all showbiz, and you should use what fits the occassion.

If you do impromptu borrowed coin stuff then maybe you need to do tricks with nickels, dimes and quarters, or even pennies.

Whatever works.
Stay tooned.

Postby Guest » July 10th, 2006, 11:32 am

When you are just learning coin sleights, use a large coin that is comfortable for you to work with. After you master the move, try "downsizing" to smaller coins. You will find that you can do MOST of the moves with dime-sized coins, but only after you have practiced and learned the moves with whatever makes you comfortable.

Postby Guest » July 10th, 2006, 11:58 am