backpalm

A place where beginners can participate, ask questions, and post their views. However, beginners typically ask a lot of questions about sources, tricks, books, and so on. In fact, all magicians are interested (or should be) in the provenance of tricks, ideas, and related matters. This department will service these needs.

backpalm

Postby Guest » June 9th, 2006, 4:02 pm

I got an instructional video of a card trick called "mambo#5", probably has different names also, anyway, it contains a trick called a "backpalm"(I am extremely new to this by the way), I've been practicing it for a little while now and can't seem to get fast enough at it for the illusion to work. I'm smooth when it's slow, but when I speed up, I throw the card across the room, or just don't hold it correctly. Then it goes into a "frontpalm?" thingie, where he turns his hand around, reverses the hold and hides it again with his hand facing the opposite direction. I was fust wondering if anyone had any advise on how to do this trick more competently, other than just practicing more.
Thanks

Re: backpalm

Postby Guest » June 9th, 2006, 8:22 pm

That would be this trick here by Oz Pearlman.[ WMV Demo ]

This would not be my first choice of an early trick for a beginner to learn, but it can be done.

The one thing I'd point out is that the back to front palm transposition, one of the harder things to learn in this branch of card magic, is actually accomplished behind his back in the video.

There's a book called Card Control, by Arthur Buckley that explains this better.

Postby Guest » June 9th, 2006, 8:34 pm

since your a beginner, id would not do this trick. my opinion, the trick stinks.

what you should do is get the first volume of Rober Giobbi's Card College.

i wish i would have when i first got into card magic. plenty of great material in that book.

Postby Guest » June 9th, 2006, 11:48 pm

Hydro,