Double Envelope Question (and Koran)

Instead of mentally projecting your mentalism thoughts, type them here.
erdnasephile

Double Envelope Question (and Koran)

Postby erdnasephile » October 20th, 2010, 8:02 pm

All:
I had a question I was hoping that someone might be able to help with please.

I am studying Al Korans Legacy and have tried to construct the envelope Mr. Miller describes in The Five Star Prediction (pg 19 of the 2009 edition). He describes putting a partition in an open business letter envelope and sticking it down to the back of the address side of the surrounding envelope on 3 sides (2 narrow and lengthwise) with one card trapped within. Then the second card is placed in the other compartment and the envelope sealed.

The part I really dont understand is that the text claims that by tearing the right narrow side of the envelope, only one compartment will be accessible, while tearing the left narrow side, the other compartment is the only one available. Worse, the illustration on pg 24 shows the envelope's narrow end torn with the card coming out and the long top edge of the envelope torn with another card coming out. I cant for the life of me figure out how this is supposed to work.

The only solution I have come up with is to cut the partition shorter than the envelope on both narrow ends, then glue the left side of the narrow partition to the back of the address side of the surrounding envelope. Then, glue the other side of the partition to the non-address side of the surrounding envelope. That way, when you tear the envelope, on one side only one compartment should be open. If the cement is only 1/8th inch in width and the partition is all the way to the ends of the envelope (as in the Koran book), the method I described won't work.

I am hoping that perhaps someone might please give me a push in the right direction in constructing this envelope.