Looking for those that knew Dr. Jaks

Instead of mentally projecting your mentalism thoughts, type them here.
DrJaksCousin

Looking for those that knew Dr. Jaks

Postby DrJaksCousin » January 19th, 2010, 9:22 pm

Hello,
I am new to Genii Forum. I am cousin to Dr. Jaks, and I am looking for those who knew Uncle Jak; or knew those who knew him. It was quite a long time ago that he died, approximately 1960, so I don't know if there is anyone out there who knew him in person.

I have had the good fortune of making contact with one or two or you; I am hoping there might be more of you.

My mother, his first cousin, was very close with him, as was her mother (his aunt). They made the black silks for his blindfold routines, and I remember sponge bunnies from when I was little.

He was always just Uncle Jak to us, and I never thought much about it. I did not realize until a year or so ago, when my mother gave my older son a poster from one of his shows, how well known Uncle Jak had been in his time. It was a fun surprise, as my son, Sam, without the benefit of the knowledge of the family legacy, grew into an accomplished beginning magician of his own, now performing close-up magic at local restaurants, much in the tradition of Uncle Jak.

My mom is 82 now, and I am looking to find others that knew Uncle Jak/Dr. Jaks.

Thanks so much,
DrJaksCousin

Richard Hatch

Re: Looking for those that knew Dr. Jaks

Postby Richard Hatch » January 19th, 2010, 10:46 pm

I believe Charles Reynolds knew him fairly well. But not sure he is active on this forum or any others...

There are at least two books in German about him and his work (one fairly recent). A proposed book in English about him by Robert Bluemle has been "in the works" for about 20 years now...

Richard Kaufman
Favorite Magician: Theodore DeLand

Postby Richard Kaufman » January 19th, 2010, 11:10 pm

His notebooks are being auctioned off right now on Martinka.com
Subscribe today to Genii Magazine

Jack Greenberg