Blackpool 2024 Day Three

Discuss the latest news and rumors in the magic world.
CraigMitchell

Blackpool 2024 Day Three

Postby CraigMitchell » February 18th, 2024, 7:24 pm

Blackpool Day Three 2024

The sun is shining on day three of the world’s largest magic convention in Blackpool.

LUCA VOLPE LECTURE

Luca Volpe looks the part. Elegantly attired. Solid commercial mentalism. And most critically - material achievable by his Blackpool audience.

His performance was high energy ( an impressive feat for 930 am ) featuring some ingenious methods: his bulldog clip two way out prediction on the pocket drew gasps whilst his forcing of four cards using a dictionary as cover was clean, simple and oh so sly.

Luca is a great practitioner of the “method doesn’t matter - it’s all about the effect” approach …

And his back of room sales no doubt rewarded him accordingly.

CLOSEUP GALA SHOW 2

*PAUL RICHARDS
This is my first time seeing Paul - and he’s a great entertainer. Relaxed, confident and knows how to put an audience immediately at ease.

Coins across, three fly, triumph, bank night (Vinny and Vito’s bank of broken knees) - all solid material presented well.

*CAMERON FRANCIS
Vanishing and re-appearing name tag, deck transpo, visual ring on string and a great finale with a spectator counting to the chosen card with kicker on kicker ending in a royal flush and rest of deck revealed to be all blanks.

*DAVID REGAL
A consummate pro - dry wit, clever humor and powerful magic. Entertaining and mystifying.

*ANNA DE GUZMAN
We are finding ourselves in a new era where performers are achieving “celebrity status” and impressive success on TV and online - but ask them to perform a closeup show and the results don’t always match the slick highlights reel unfortunately.

Whilst Anna has a wonderful charm about her, she is out of her depth at an international closeup gala show at the world’s largest magic convention.