Im tired of those pick a card tricks?

Discuss general aspects of Genii.
SIX

Im tired of those pick a card tricks?

Postby SIX » August 23rd, 2004, 12:27 pm

I hate doing a few card effects to somone and keep having them take a card each time waht are some effects that are in the hand where the spectator does not take a card the one i do most is twisting the aces.

Tabman

Re: Im tired of those pick a card tricks?

Postby Tabman » August 23rd, 2004, 12:50 pm

I've been doing CardWarp for at least 25 years or more and I never get tired of it but it may be overexposed by now, I exist in a vacuum here at the studio. Also theres McDonald's Aces and Peter Kane's Variant (I think I spelled that right) as well as about any version of Wild Card. If you don't mind tearing up cards take a look at Parallax Revisited in the book, The First Five Years of the MAGIC MENU.

Jonathan Townsend

Postby Jonathan Townsend » August 23rd, 2004, 12:53 pm

Originally posted by Six:
I hate doing a few card effects to somone ...
It can be fun to do card tricks FOR someone.
And there are scores of books full of tricks that do not involve any selected cards. Folks here have been talking about stuff like 'Sam The Bellhop' for quite a while here.

Have you tried 'Out of This World', or 'Oil and Water'?
Mundus vult decipi -per Caleb Carr's story Killing Time

Michel Huot

Postby Michel Huot » August 23rd, 2004, 5:22 pm

Hi Six,

If you do Twisting the aces, you are in a very good position to do Dr. Jacob Daley's last trick which is A KILLER. there is a lot of possibilities but start with this one...

NikMikas

Postby NikMikas » August 23rd, 2004, 5:59 pm

An idea of Vernon's was to have them name a card, this added a little to the effect and also stayed away from the usual "Take any card".