Search found 96 matches

Return to advanced search

Re: David Copperfield Interviewed by CCTV America

That was a particularly good interview, I thought.
by Barefoot Boy
09/30/14 12:57 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: David Copperfield Interviewed by CCTV America
Replies: 1
Views: 456

Re: A Truly Amazing Cabinet

That is just plain cool!
by Barefoot Boy
09/21/14 12:06 AM
 
Forum: Magic History and Anecdotes
Topic: A Truly Amazing Cabinet
Replies: 4
Views: 832

Re: Joanie Spina 1953-2014

I am so sad. She was one of the sweetest people in magic. RIP Joanie.
by Barefoot Boy
08/17/14 08:33 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Joanie Spina 1953-2014
Replies: 14
Views: 1697

Re: Annemann

I have always thought that C.O.Williams was the inventor of this effect. But apparently he came up with it in 1937. I'd be interested to find out the answer to this as well.
.
by Barefoot Boy
08/08/14 08:26 PM
 
Forum: General
Topic: Annemann
Replies: 3
Views: 836

Re: The vernon touch book

The book is absolutely fantastic and well worth your efforts to seek it out.
by Barefoot Boy
07/18/14 01:19 AM
 
Forum: Kaufman & Company
Topic: The vernon touch book
Replies: 34
Views: 6250

Re: Happy Birthday, Corinda!!

Thinking about you again on what would have been your 84th birthday!

Another tea for the teacher of mind readers.

Cheers, Tony!
by Barefoot Boy
05/17/14 01:29 AM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Happy Birthday, Corinda!!
Replies: 2
Views: 1450

Re: Merry Christmas from The Chief Genii

And a Happy New Year to all! :)
by Barefoot Boy
12/29/13 09:01 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Merry Christmas from The Chief Genii
Replies: 10
Views: 730

Re: Karl Norman

He will be missed by many. I'm glad I spent the time with him that I did. RIP Karl.
by Barefoot Boy
12/29/13 08:58 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Karl Norman
Replies: 2
Views: 433

Re: Kreskin and Al Capone

Steve, please post a review of your experience at Kreskin's show here once you've seen it.

I am quite sure you will have a great time!
by Barefoot Boy
10/25/13 09:35 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Kreskin and Al Capone
Replies: 6
Views: 798

Re: magic elephant

I agree. That was amusing!
by Barefoot Boy
10/24/13 02:33 PM
 
Forum: Platform & Stage Magic
Topic: magic elephant
Replies: 2
Views: 451

Re: Kreskin and Al Capone

Hi Steve. The chances are that Kreskin will use the power of suggestion to cause people to "see" Al Capone. If you go to the show expecting to see a ghost walk or other dramatic spirit manifestations you will probably be disappointed. I am in no way belittling Kreskin's performance (nor do...
by Barefoot Boy
10/22/13 11:03 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Kreskin and Al Capone
Replies: 6
Views: 798

Re: The Trick that Fooled Einstein

I have always been interested in the history of mentalism effects. Lots of great information here.

Thanks for sharing.
by Barefoot Boy
10/20/13 01:35 PM
 
Forum: Reference Room
Topic: The Trick that Fooled Einstein
Replies: 19
Views: 4339

Re: The Other Magical Close

Lisa is one of my oldest friends in magic. She is funny, friendly and generous.

Thanks for sharing this wonderful article.
by Barefoot Boy
10/16/13 11:16 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: The Other Magical Close
Replies: 2
Views: 423

Re: Dodgy magic photos

Personally, I don't see the photo as "creepy" either, but I DO see how others might find it a tad "uncomfortable".
by Barefoot Boy
10/16/13 10:52 PM
 
Forum: General
Topic: Dodgy magic photos
Replies: 44
Views: 5999

Re: Tim Conover Memorial Site

Thanks for sharing, Dustin.
by Barefoot Boy
10/16/13 10:48 PM
 
Forum: Link Watch
Topic: Tim Conover Memorial Site
Replies: 1
Views: 622

Re: Happy Birthday, Corinda!!

Thinking about you again on what would have been your 83rd birthday!

Another tea for the teacher of mind readers.

Cheers, Tony!
by Barefoot Boy
05/17/13 12:16 AM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Happy Birthday, Corinda!!
Replies: 2
Views: 1450

Re: nail roulette performed with an egg?

Years ago in an old Genii magazine I remember reading that Jonathan Pendragon wrote up a routine with an egg under an inverted paper cup. In turn, each cup was smashed leaving the egg under the last remaining cup unharmed. I will try to hunt down the exact copy and post the month and year here if I ...
by Barefoot Boy
05/16/13 02:31 PM
 
Forum: Platform & Stage Magic
Topic: nail roulette performed with an egg?
Replies: 4
Views: 671

Re: What's the best magic book you've found at a bargain books store?

Dunninger's Secrets
by Barefoot Boy
05/26/12 09:30 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: What's the best magic book you've found at a bargain books store?
Replies: 29
Views: 2409

Re: My experience with Snap Illusions

It is completely beyond my comprehension that they are still able to be in business at all.

Unreal.
by Barefoot Boy
05/25/12 03:29 PM
 
Forum: General
Topic: My experience with Snap Illusions
Replies: 89
Views: 19131

Re: Uri Geller

"Some people think this is paranormal. Some people think that this is magic. I want to leave it a mystery!" ~Uri Geller <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLXdLAzYIsQ&feature=related">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BLXdLAzY ... re=related</a><!-- m -->
by Barefoot Boy
05/24/12 07:05 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Uri Geller
Replies: 10
Views: 809

Re: Magician fools himself

That's great! One in a million chance... but why did he think the centre cup should be empty?
by Barefoot Boy
05/21/12 12:03 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Magician fools himself
Replies: 1
Views: 402

Happy Birthday, Corinda!!

It's a special day today! Happy Birthday, Thomas William Simpson! You would have been 82 years old today. You lived a colourful yet mysteriously private life. Your book has influenced a great deal of my colleagues and friends and helped to define the art that I love so much. Thank you for being my f...
by Barefoot Boy
05/17/12 07:23 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Happy Birthday, Corinda!!
Replies: 2
Views: 1450

Re: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it

Yes, Doug.... Yes...
by Barefoot Boy
05/15/12 09:23 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it
Replies: 12
Views: 1767

Re: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it

Granted, Corinda only used one book.
by Barefoot Boy
05/14/12 07:39 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it
Replies: 12
Views: 1767

Re: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it

I do know this is an old thread but Corinda wrote the Steps between '56 and '58 and the method for the "Hoy" test appears on page 205 - 12 lines up from the bottom.

Did Corinda get it from David Hoy?
by Barefoot Boy
05/13/12 02:23 AM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: hoy book test? what is it and where can i get it
Replies: 12
Views: 1767

Re: What Issue of Genii Did Max Maven's History of Genii Appear In?

Was it the March 1981 issue?
by Barefoot Boy
05/08/12 11:35 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: What Issue of Genii Did Max Maven's History of Genii Appear In?
Replies: 4
Views: 601

Re: What is the difference b/w mentalism & mental magic?

Richard Kaufman wrote:Tom Stone wrote, "And if it's only published but never performed, then it is Bizarre magic."



HILARIOUS!
by Barefoot Boy
04/26/12 11:42 AM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: What is the difference b/w mentalism & mental magic?
Replies: 10
Views: 1169

Re: Dick Clark is off the air at age 82.

"For now, Dick Clark ... so long."

RIP
by Barefoot Boy
04/18/12 07:04 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Dick Clark is off the air at age 82.
Replies: 6
Views: 602

Re: Tony Corinda

zamiel wrote:This may sound like an odd question but does anyone
know if Tony Corinda was a freemason? Also, I've
read that he never told anyone about his birth and
I was curious about that as well.


I know this thread is ages old, but Corinda's date of birth was May 17, 1930 as far as I know.
by Barefoot Boy
02/16/12 04:43 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Tony Corinda
Replies: 16
Views: 3656

Re: Feet of Magic

Toronto is a beautiful city! I have done some hunting and I believe the magician who did your "Feet of Magic" was a fellow called, Randall Richman.

Can't find a video clip however.
by Barefoot Boy
02/11/12 05:30 PM
 
Forum: Close-Up Magic
Topic: Feet of Magic
Replies: 5
Views: 736

Re: Question about Blackstone Jr.

Another time, Paul Rosini was performing the Linking Rings with a well-intoxicated woman from the audience up on stage with him. The woman INSISTED on examining the single ring in Paul's right hand so she grabbed it and would not let go. Paul gently encouraged her to let it go but her grip was stead...
by Barefoot Boy
02/11/12 01:45 AM
 
Forum: Magic History and Anecdotes
Topic: Question about Blackstone Jr.
Replies: 44
Views: 6146

Re: Feet of Magic

Did you not perform it on the Tonight Show one time?
by Barefoot Boy
02/10/12 11:19 PM
 
Forum: Close-Up Magic
Topic: Feet of Magic
Replies: 5
Views: 736

Re: Question about Blackstone Jr.

Once, when performing the floating light bulb out in the audience, Harry Blackstone, Jr. became enraged when an audience member swatted the bulb to the floor. Blackstone shouted, "You stupid son of a b****!" After Harry calmed down he apologized humbly, "Sir, please forgive me for cal...
by Barefoot Boy
02/10/12 11:16 PM
 
Forum: Magic History and Anecdotes
Topic: Question about Blackstone Jr.
Replies: 44
Views: 6146

Re: Early Centre Tear In Print

Thanks, Joe!
by Barefoot Boy
02/05/12 06:28 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Early Centre Tear In Print
Replies: 4
Views: 600

Early Centre Tear In Print

Okay... I have just heard that there was a possibility that Annemann published the Centre Tear in some Thayer manuscript before it was published in the March 1935 issue of the Jinx. It may have slipped under the radar being such a relatively small release but it really hit magicians in the face when...
by Barefoot Boy
02/05/12 06:07 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: Early Centre Tear In Print
Replies: 4
Views: 600

The Passing of Tony Corinda

Last night, as I was performing my mind reading program my thoughts were on Tony Corinda who passed away one year ago today. RIP Tony and thanks for all your contributions to the art of Mentalism.
by Barefoot Boy
07/01/11 03:59 PM
 
Forum: Mentalism & Mental Magic
Topic: The Passing of Tony Corinda
Replies: 0
Views: 387

Re: The Goat vs. [censored] on the Cafe

Incidentally, has anyone seen X-Men:First Class yet?
by Barefoot Boy
06/08/11 02:24 AM
 
Forum: General
Topic: The Goat vs. [censored] on the Cafe
Replies: 27
Views: 2866

Re: Video of the Rube Goldberg Card Trick

Toe!tally cool!!!
by Barefoot Boy
05/26/11 11:01 PM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Video of the Rube Goldberg Card Trick
Replies: 15
Views: 1976

Re: Doug Henning’s Birthday

I have always loved Doug Henning! He was the first magician who I saw on TV and that image has stuck with me ever since. Fortunately, I got a chance to meet him before he passed away. For fans of Doug, You must read the John Harrison book, Spellbound! <!-- m --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.d...
by Barefoot Boy
05/05/11 09:52 AM
 
Forum: Buzz
Topic: Doug Henning’s Birthday
Replies: 7
Views: 1300

Re: signing up for the magic cafe

The new site is a lot of fun and James has put a lot of work into it. I would personally like to invite more mentalists to the site to "share their thoughts" with the patrons of The Bistro in the mentalism section. Congratulations once again James for a successful launch! :cool: Happy Thou...
by Barefoot Boy
04/30/11 07:07 PM
 
Forum: Link Watch
Topic: signing up for the magic cafe
Replies: 17
Views: 2920
Next

Return to advanced search